opening the call

7 Dec

After much prayer and pondersome thought, I decided to turn in my mission papers. A few weeks later, I received my call to serve as a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Initial assignment: Arizona Tucson Mission

Language: Spanish

Availability date: Dec. 31, 2010

Date to enter the MTC: Jan. 12, 2011

It is anticipated that I will serve for a period of 18 months.

On October 13, 2010, I checked the mailbox to find nothing. After seeing the mail truck go by and tracking down the mailman, I learned he was just running late that day. The gracious mailman found my letter for me and wished me luck. At this point, I was feeling scared and panicky. I listened to some peaceful church music and prayed, which calmed me down.

Later that evening, I opened my call with my family on iChat/iPhone and a few close friends on site. At this point, I felt so much peace and an assurance that Heavenly Father was going to take care of me by sending me where and when I needed to go. I also felt so humbled and grateful for the opportunity to serve as a representative of the Lord and His church.

For those of you who are not Mormon, mission calls are extremely personal and are inspired by God. The apostles of our Church have a special assignment to organize and call missionaries to all the missions in the world. So, I put in my mission papers and could have gone anywhere in the world. You can understand why this can be a bit overwhelming.

But when the time came to open my call and as I began reading the words, the Spirit testified of God’s love for me. I instantly felt peace and, of course, began to cry exceedingly (because that’s what I do when things are that spiritually moving). That is why I look like I have been crying in my pictures and why there aren’t many pictures to begin with.

One Response to “opening the call”

  1. Dee Barnes December 8, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Oh Lauren! Congratulations!! That’s such exciting news! I’m so happy for you and know that you will be very blessed for your service – not to mention that you will be a fabulous missionary! What a great opportunity for you and for the people you are about to serve. We will be anxiously awaiting the report on the other end to hear of all your experiences. We wish you all the best as you go forward to do a “marvelous work and a wonder”. Love ya! Sister Barnes

Leave a Reply

