July 25-Que buenos los susurros del espieitu

13 Nov

Hola mis queridos amigos!

Esta semana pasada fue muy muy bien, pero no lo muestra en los numeros.

Well, we played sports with the Elders today. I learned that I am basketball is not one of my strongest talents, but I am good at lots of other things. It was good exercise though, so I’ll probably do it again. I would rather go wakeboarding, but it’s against the white handbook.

There’s a new Elder in my district who also is a big fan of John Mayer. We are going to teach him the lessons one day, we decided. We go home about the same time, so it will work out soon.

It’s been really beautiful here the past week. It’s rained almost every day. It is monsoon season over in Tucson and kinda over here too, but we don’t get it as badly as they do.

Sunday was really good, we had a lot of less active families in church. We had been trying to visit them more this past week, and it really helped i think. It is really joyful when they come back to church and can tell a difference in their lives.

One really cool experience happened a few days back. My companion y yo were planning our lessons for the day and we just felt awful. So, we tried many ideas and still nothing seemed right. Eventually, we were out of time and had to leave for an appointment we had with someone at 11:00. While we were driving, we still had this terrible feeling and so we started thinking, maybe we’re not supposed to go to this appointment, which is kinda silly because we should be on time for and keep our appointments so people think we’re reliable. So, we pulled over and prayed for some guidance. After praying, Sister Vawdrey said, “Maybe we need to find someone else right now.” I said, “I feel like we need to go back home.” Going home is one of the silliest things you could do because missionaries don’t get work done while they’re just sitting at home. But, I felt like that’s where we needed to go. We were really confused, but we just kept going. We looked for people all along the way home, and didn’t feel impressed about anything. So, we ended up en casa y we went inside. I changed my shirt. Then we were leaving, on the way out, I said, “Maybe we just needed to grab this picture of the Salt Lake Temple.” As soon as we walked out the door, we met this lady who was looking for someone living in our apartment complex. Her name is Rustie and she had been to our church many times in San Diego with her friends many years back and with some friends here in Silver City as well. We asked her if she had ever been to the San Diego temple and she said, “Yeah, I have. . . but have you seen the one in Utah?!” I had the picture in my hand and said, “this one? ? ?” She said, “Oh yeah, that’s the one. It’s so amazing. Can I have that picture?” I said, “Sure.” (I was just laughing at how perfect Heavenly Father’s plan is.) Then she asked us to come to her house and teach her!! So, she might actually be in the Elder’s area, but I know we were lead to find her that day and it was really cool!! At first, my companion and I were so confused and felt incapable of following the Spirit, but then we just kept following the small promptings that we got, and it ended beautifully. It reminded us of Elder Uchtdorf’s talk from last conference “Waiting on the Road to Damascus.” I really learned first hand that the Lord gives us just what we need to get along and won’t show us the miracles until after our faith is tested. I am learning more and more of how to follow the Spirit like that and receive inspiration. I have learned that you really need to seek it sincerely. A half-hearted prayer will not yield the mysteries of God. I have been feeling more and more charity for the people we’ve been teaching and have been praying for more revelation of how we can help them individually progress in the gospel. I have seen many more miracles come from that, and it is really neat.

Yesterday, we found Greg. We went to teach Jermain at the same house (every time we go to that house, someone different comes to the door). Anyways, Greg came outside and talked to us eagerly. After a minute, we talked to him about how the power to baptize has been restored to the earth. He said, “No way, I was just saying the other day that I needed to be baptized again.” We set up a baptismal date and then taught him the first lesson. It usually goes the other way around, but right now he’s on fire. I hope he continues to progress. He recognizes the Lord’s hand in us meeting though because of the key timing. He asked if we just walked around “preaching the word”. He asked if he could go around with us. haha. And after Sister Vawdrey told him the First Vision, he said, “You memorized that? You deserve a grammy.” (And he gave her a hug-haha.)

Later we were driving around and a dog was blocking the road. As we slowed down and got closer, it still didn’t move. So, we were both sitting there staring at each other (the dog and we). So, we figured we better go talk to whoever lived there. Turns out, we found Kevin. Kevin is not very happy. He used to believe in Christ and now he doesn’t. We bore testimony of repentance and the healing power of the atonement. He told us he was a stubborn-a@%, so we eventually left, but I think we got him thinking again, and he said he would pray and read about the Plan of Salvation. We plan to check up with him in the future. : )

I may have told you this before but I can’t remember. Once we were at this girl Jenny’s house and her son was being distracted so Sister Call tried to play with him so we could teach. The son, Diego, wanted Sister Call to follow him to his room and Jenny said, “yeah, it’s okay.” Sister Call said, “I’m not allowed to be alone with children.” And Jenny said, “Why. . . what’d you do?” with this concerned look on her face. We had to explain that all missionaries have rules that they can’t be alone with children to keep us safe from accusations and stuff. It was really funny though.

Well, I think that’s about it. My companion is great. Sometimes we just get really tired. Neither one of us are morning people. : ) We still try to get up early at 6 though.

The work is progressing!!

Love you all!

-Sister Bryce

Leave a Reply

